Skip to content ↓


St Joseph's RC High School is a voluntary-aided school. This means that while it is a state-funded maintained school within the local authority of Newport, the Archdiocese of Cardiff is the trustee who owns the buildings. As a result, the governing body of St. Joseph's, acting on behalf of the trustees, are the employing authority of the school, not the local authority.

The role of the governing body at St Joseph's is to support and challenge the school to ensure that it delivers an outstanding education.

Foundation Governors

Appointed every four years
Mrs B Kurzik (Chair)
Mr P Bennett
Mrs G Waite
Mrs V Bradshaw
Fr B Cuddihy
Mrs L Dunn
Mrs A Godfrey
Mrs N McLoughlin 
Mrs M Tilley
Mrs L Robinson
Mrs R Cross
Mrs K Rowlands

Local Education Authority Governors

Appointed every four years by the LEA
Cllr Mr P Drewett

Parent Governors 
Elected every four years by parents of children at the school
Mrs C Ward
Mr S Linton
Mrs S Molina

Student Associate Governors
Christian Linganay
Madison Paul

Teacher Governors

Elected every four years by the teachers at the school
Mrs K Burke
Mr J Ryan
In addition, the Headteacher has chosen to be a Governor.

Staff (non-teaching) Governor
Mr M Rowland

The Clerk to the Governors contact South East Wales Education Achievement Services:

Each year we publish our Governors' Annual Report to Parents which includes details of what our school has achieved, including our results at the end of the academic year. The report also explains our aims for improvement to ensure that our school continues to move forward. 

Please click on the report below to read it at your leisure.

Governors' Annual Report for Parents' and Carers' 2023-2024